House honors its retirees

THE House of Representatives (HRep) under the leadership of Speaker Ferdinand Martin Romualdez on Wednesday honored 23 personnel who have either reached the age of mandatory retirement or have availed of optional retirement for the period July to December this year. 

In the recognition program dubbed “Salamat, Mabuhay,” each retiree from the different HRep offices was awarded a Plaque of Recognition for their years of government service, as well as dedication to the HRep; cash incentive; and a five-year health care coverage. 

HRep Secretary-General (Secgen) Reginald Velasco conveyed the gratitude and appreciation of Speaker Romualdez and Senior Deputy Speaker Aurelio “Dong” Gonzales to the retirees for shaping the HRep into what it is today. “Know that your guidance, hard work, commitment and loyalty contributed to the success of our institution. We do not take for granted the significant sacrifices you have made beyond the call of duty. Have no doubt that your legacy will forever be imprinted in the halls of the House,” he said. SecGen Velasco then wished that the retirees may find meaning, joy and peace after their stint at the HRep. 

Retirees Ms. Lina Mortega, Committee Affairs Bureau Executive Director (ED), and Ms. Luz Ocampo of the Management Audit Service and reflected on their work experiences and retirement. “My heart is full of gratitude to God, with a wealth of experience, knowledge and friendships I have gained over these 42 years of serving in the government, 36 years in this institution,” ED Mortega said.  

Ms. Ocampo shared how destiny intervened and enabled her to work in the HRep, the friendships she built, and her faith in God. She urged her fellow retirees to stay healthy. 

Finance Department Deputy Secretary-General Dante Roberto Maling congratulated the retirees and thanked them for their invaluable contribution to the HRep over the years. “Ang tanging mapapabaon namin sa inyo ay ang aming mga panalangin ng patuloy na maayos na kalagayan, kalusugan, at kaligayahan sa susunod na yugto na inyong buhay,” DSG Maling said. 

Other officials present were Administrative Department OIC DSG Atty. Jennelyn Go-Sison, Inter-Parliamentary and Public Affairs Department DSG Atty. Grace Andres, Legal Affairs Department DSG Atty. Annalou Nachura, Legislative Information and Research Management Department DSG Dr. Edgardo Pangilinan, Ph.D., Physical Facilities and Engineering Department DSG Engr. Floro Banaybanay and Legislative Operations Department DSG Atty David Robert Amorin.

The event was organized by the Administrative Department’s Human Resource Management Service under Director II Annabelle Hufanda.