May 22, 2024

The Insider News

Direct from the source

House honors 2023 Metrobank Foundation Outstanding Filipinos

THE House of Representatives has adopted a resolution to congratulate and commend the recipients of the 2023 Metrobank Foundation Outstanding Filipino awards for their unwavering commitment and exceptional contributions to public service.

House Resolution (HR) No. 1312 was introduced by Speaker Ferdinand Martin G. Romualdez, Senior Deputy Speaker Aurelio “Dong” D. Gonzales Jr., Majority Leader Manuel Jose “Mannix” M. Dalipe, Minority Leader Marcelino C. Libanan, Senior Deputy Majority Leader Ferdinand Alexander A. Marcos, and Tingog Partylist Reps. Yedda Marie K. Romualdez and Jude A. Acidre.

The Metrobank Foundation Outstanding Filipinos is the foremost and most prestigious career-service award bestowed upon outstanding individuals in the academe, military and police sectors.

This award comprehensively evaluates an individual’s entire career, acknowledging all accomplishments and contributions, regardless of size, both within and beyond their official duties, from the beginning of their career to the present day.

The Metrobank Foundation Outstanding Filipinos program highlights the achievements of 10 distinguished Filipinos, comprising four educators, three dedicated military personnel, and three commendable police officers.

The foundation collaborates with the Department of Education and Commission on Higher Education for Teacher Excellence; the Armed Forces of the Philippines and Rotary Club of Makati Metro for Soldier Excellence; and the Philippine National Police, Philippine Savings Bank, and Rotary Club of New Manila East for Police Officer Excellence.

Recipients of the 2023 Metrobank Foundation Outstanding Filipino Award for Teachers were Rex M. Sario, Master Teacher I/Teacher-in-charge of Balogo Elementary School (Pangantucan, Bukidnon); June Elias V. Patalinghug, EdD, Master Teacher II at Catalunan Grade Elementary School (Davao City); Edgar R. Durana, MAEd, Master Teacher I / SPED Coordinator at Don Jose M. Ynares Sr. Memorial National High School (Binangonan, Rizal); and Jovelyn G Delosa, Ph.D., Associate Professor/Vice President for Academic Affairs of Northern Bukidnon State College (Manolo Fortich, Bukidnon).

Meanwhile, recipients of the 2023 Metrobank Foundation Outstanding Filipino Award for Soldiers were Staff Sergeant Danilo S. Banquiao, Civil-Military Officer-Non-Commission Officer of 103rd Brigade, 1st Infantry Division of Philippine Army (Marawi City, Lanao del Sur); Lieutenant Colonel Joseph J. Bitancur, Assistant Commandant of the Basic Military School, Air Education, Training and Doctrine Command-Philippine Air Force (Lipa City, Batangas); and Colonel Joseph Jeremias Cirilo C. Dator, Assistant Chief of Staff for Operations of the Presidential Security Group and former Commanding Officer of the 10th Military Intelligence Battalion, 10th Infantry Division (Mawab, Davao de Oro).

Recipients of the 2023 Metrobank Foundation Outstanding Filipino Award for Police Officers were Chief Master Sergeant Dennis D. Bendo, Section Team Leader of the District Mobile Force Battalion of Manila Police District; Major Mae Ann R. Cunanan, Chief of Police Community Relations
Criminal Investigation and Detection Group and former Chief of the Case Monitoring Section, Regional Investigation and Detection Management Division, PRO 9 in Zamboanga City; and Colonel Renell R. Sabaldica, Chief of Morale and Welfare Division of Directorate for Personnel and Records Management in Camp Crame, Quezon City, and former Provincial Director of Cagayan Police Provincial Office in Tuguegarao City.

“Whereas, for exemplifying commitment, selflessness and dedication in the pursuit of public service, the House of Representatives proudly joins the Metrobank Foundation Inc. in honoring and commending these 10 exceptional individuals who exemplify public service as a worthy endeavor,” according to the House resolution adopted last Wednesday in consolidation with HR No. 1298.

“Now, therefore, be it resolved by the House of Representatives to congratulate and commend the 2023 Metrobank Foundation Outstanding Filipino Awardees for their dedication and steadfast commitment in providing exceptional public service,” it adds.

This year’s awardees join the ranks of 695 outstanding public servants recognized by the Metrobank Foundation, the corporate social responsibility arm of the Metrobank Group, since 1985.