May 22, 2024

The Insider News

Direct from the source

Remaining towns of Polillo Group of Islands achieve insurgency-free status 

CAVINTI, LAGUNA – Patnanungan and Jomalig, both of Quezon province are now insurgency-free municipalities following the Ceremonial Signing of Memorandum of Understanding on April 27 and 28, 2023, respectively

Said municipalities were conferred by an inter-agency body with the Stable Internal Peace and Security (SIPS) status after successfully meeting the criteria established under the phases of Normalization per Revised Joint Implementing Rules and Regulations to Executive Order 546 Series of 2006, specifically the absence of recorded NPA violent activities for at least one year.

Town chiefs expressed their heartful gratitude to the different stakeholders and the citizenry for working hand in hand to achieve their shared dream of having a safe, secured and insurgency free environment. They are confident that by being known as an insurgency-free area, businesses and tourism will further flourish and prosperity will become a way of life in said island municipalities.

Brigadier General Cerilo C Balaoro Jr., Commander, 202nd Infantry Brigade, praised the Local Government of the newly declared insurgency-free municipalities for institutionalizing the Whole-of-Nation approach in attaining this milestone in the Normalization process. “This declaration is our serious and sincere desire to finally attain national unity and put an end to the local communist armed conflict that has hindered our collective aspirations for peace and development.”

He also encouraged every citizen not to support the Communist Terrorist Group and its front organizations to sustain the gains of the government and the people and maintain the climate of peace.

With the declaration of SIPS status, the Local Chief Executives are now leading the charge in maintaining peace and security while pursuing development initiatives for the good of their constituents. 

The program also involves the redeclaration of the CPP-NPA-NDF as Persona Non Grata in the two municipalities as well as the signing of the Pledge of Commitment of all stakeholders particularly the local officials from the municipal level, including the different Barangay Chairmen and SK Presidents.

It can be recalled that the three other municipalities on the Polillo Group of Islands namely Panukulan, Polillo and Burdeos achieved SIPS status last March 2023.