June 19, 2024

The Insider News

Direct from the source

30 Metro Manila lawmakers rally behind Speaker Romualdez amid attacks from senators 

Photo caption:

Speaker Ferdinand Martin G. Romualdez shows the manifesto of support to his leadership by National Capital Region (NCR) lawmakers, led by Caloocan City Rep. Oscar “Oca” Malapitan, amid attacks by some senators on efforts to amend some restrictive economic provisions of the 1987 Constitution to attract foreign investors during a short meeting at the Speaker’s office in the House of Representatives.

THIRTY Metro Manila lawmakers representing 14 highly-urbanized cities and districts have banded together to defend Speaker Ferdinand Martin G. Romualdez from baseless accusations of some senators on efforts to amend some restrictive economic provisions of the 1987 Constitution to attract foreign investors.  

“Let it be said, here and now, that we the undersigned Representatives from the National Capital Region denounce efforts to foment disunity in our nation! We call on all to respect each other’s positions and the voices of our citizens and their inalienable right to be heard,” they stated. 

In a three-page “Statement of Solidarity,” the members of the House of Representatives declared that they are “standing firm with Speaker Romualdez in upholding the rights enshrined in our Constitution,” as democracy’s cornerstone is people’s “immutable right to have their voices heard.” 

“Hearing the clamor of our constituents, we express our undaunted support for Speaker Romualdez who champions the efforts of the public for a lively discourse on the issues besetting the future of our Republic,” they said, reassuring the public they will always “uphold freedom of expression.”  

The administration legislators lauded the House leader for being sympathetic by lending an ear to the soon-to-be-displaced jeepney drivers and operators, making sure the discounts for the elderly, solo parents and persons with disabilities (PWDs) are strictly implemented to the latter. 

The Metro Manila congressmen also mentioned the Speaker’s “continuous efforts in support of our districts without political favor,” where Speaker Romualdez has been “a stalwart of promoting equality, the voice of the masses, and championing their causes.” 

“We sign this unequivocally in support of the citizens we represent, in support of Speaker Romualdez who has been a Speaker for all and a Speaker of the Nation!” the veteran lawmakers declared further. 

Among the signatories were Reps. Oscar Malapitan, Mary Mitzi Cajayon-Uy and Dean Asistio of Caloocan’s first, second and third district, respectively; Romulo “Kid” Pena Jr. and Luis Campos Jr. of Makati’s first and second district. 

Reps. Toby Tiangco of Navotas, Neptali “Boyet” Gonzales II of Mandaluyong, and Antonino Calixto of the lone district of Pasay.

The six (6) congressmen of Manila, Reps. Ernesto Dionisio Jr., Rolando Valeriano, Joel Chua, Edward Vera Perez Maceda, Irwin Tieng and Bienvenido Abante, who represent the first until sixth district of the Philippines’ capital, respectively. 

Six (6) representatives from Quezon City’s districts also affixed their signatures, among them Reps. Juan Carlos “Arjo” Atayde, Ralph Wendel Tulfo, Franz Pumaren, Marvin Rillo, Patrick Michael “PM” Vargas, and Ma. Victoria Co-Pilar – first up to sixth district, respectively. 

Two lawmakers from Taguig-Pateros, Reps. Ricardo Cruz Jr. and Amparo Maria Zamora of the first and second districts, respectively; as well as the lone districts of San Juan and Pasig – Reps. Ysabel Maria Zamora and Roman Romulo. 

Reps. Marjorie Anne Teodoro, and Stella Luz Quimbo of Marikina’s first and second district, respectively; Edwin Olivarez and Gus Tambunting of Paranaque’s first and second district, and Jaime Fresnedi of Muntinlupa City’s lone district.