February 23, 2024

DOH – CFERMTC Medical personnel undergoes 5-year specialty training program

By Glen S Ramos

ITRMC Chief Eduardo M. Badua III and CFERTMC Emerson B. Patawaran signs the Memorandum of Agreement for the 5-year Community and Family Medicine Practice-based Residency Training Program of six medical officers during the official signing ceremony held on August 8. 2023. Also included are the trainers and trainees who will conduct and undergo the specialty training program.  

A total of six (6) medical personnel from the Conrado F. Estrella Regional Medical and Trauma Center (CFERMTC), one of the new Department of Health (DOH) hospitals in Region 1 located at the Government Center, Carmay East, Rosales, Pangasinan, will undergo a 5-year Community and Family Medicine Practice-based Residency Training Program (CFMPBRTP) at the Ilocos Training and Regional Medical Center (ITRMC).

The training program is part of the implementation of the Universal Health Care Law which aims to strengthen primary care as the foundation of the Health Care Provider Network (HCPN) in the Province-wide Health System. 

Under a Memorandum of Agreement (MOA) signed between ITRMC and CFERMTC on August 8, 2023, the medical officers will undertake a practice-based residency training program consisting of on-site, off-site and online-based trainee, trainer/mentor setting that will produce competent and practice-ready physicians. 

The CFMPBRTP will be conducted and supervised by ITRMC-Department of Community and Family Medicine under the standard curriculum set by the Philippine Academy of Family Physicians (PAFP). 

CFERMTC Chief Emerson B. Patawaran said that the training is a welcome development for the infirmary. “We are very thankful for ITRMC for their timely and immediate action to our request for a residency training lalo na ngayon at we are applying CFERTMC’s level 1 accreditation.”

“And we must continue our quality improvement pathway and reliable quality health services to ensure that we meet standards and regulations including best practices set by the DOH,” he added. 

The six medical officers who will embark on a five-year specialty training from August 14, 2023 to August 14, 2028, are Marjorie F. Talavera, Erianne C. Pagaduan, Alexis Collado, Kate S. Dupahnay, Chester Marie A. Fronda, Leonel Deo V. Osias and Mark George-Pilit. 

Regional Director Paula Paz M. Sydiongco stated that the goal of undergoing a community and family medicine residency training program is to produce well-rounded and competent physicians who can provide high-quality, patient-centered and advanced clinical care in the community. “Residents are the essence of the clinical workforce of a hospital”. 

“Family doctors are the first point of contact in our healthcare system, they specialized in diagnosing and treating the whole person. They are patient-centered and sila ang nangangalaga sa kalusugan ng bawat miyembro ng pamilya with emphasis on preventive treatment, including lifestyle modifications.”